Uniting Church e-News 26 November 2019

Uniting Church e-News 26 November 2019

Web Version unitingchurchsa.cmail19.com/t/j-e-ctipkd-tytruiuhyd-ti/ | Update preferences unitingchurchsa.updatemyprofile.com/j-ctipkd-660D6D87-tytruiuhyd-td | Unsubscribe unitingchurchsa.cmail19.com/t/j-u-ctipkd-tytruiuhyd-th/ unitingchurchsa.cmail19.com/t/j-fb-ctipkd-tytruiuhyd-tk/ Like unitingchurchsa.cmail19.com/t/j-fb-ctipkd-tytruiuhyd-tu/ unitingchurchsa.cmail19.com/t/j-tw-ctipkd-tytruiuhyd-il/ Tweet unitingchurchsa.cmail19.com/t/j-tw-ctipkd-tytruiuhyd-ir/ Forward unitingchurchsa.forwardtomyfriend.com/j-tytruiuhyd-660D6D87-ctipkd-l-iy
26 November 2019
UC e-News is the weekly e-newsletter of the Uniting Church in SA. Submit events here [http://sa.uca.org.au/events/submit-an-event]and general notices here [http://sa.uca.org.au/uc-e-news/submit-a-notice-for-uc-e-news] for inclusion in UC e-News and on the Synod of South Australia website. Items need to be submitted by 10:00am Tuesday for same day publication. Subscribe to UC e-News here [http://sa.uca.org.au/uc-e-news/subscribe-to-uc-e-news]or New Times online here [http://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/new-times-email-subscription]. To subscribe to the Pastoral Note list please email UC e-News [mailto:ucenews@sa.uca.org.au?subject=Pastoral%20Note%20list].
New Times online
SA Bushfires Chaplaincy Update
Last week disaster chaplains in South Australia were called into action when bushfires broke out on the Yorke Peninsula. Listen to an update from Wendy Perkins. R [https://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/moderator%E2%80%99s-2019-christmas-message] ead more here [https://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/sa-bushfires-chaplaincy-update].
2 min read
News, notices & prayer points
Click here [https://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/news-notices-and-prayer-points-26-november-2019] to read this week’s news, notices and prayer points for information about:
UnitingCare Australia Leaders Forum Synod Office Christmas closure dates Returning to Church: Research Remembering Bill Hollingsworth NCCA November Newsletter
And more, including links to upcoming events [http://sa.uca.org.au/events/upcoming-events-list/].
Spotlight
International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women
Monday 25 November was the United Nations’ International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women. Across the world events were held to shine the spotlight on one of the most widespread, persistent and devastating violations of human rights in our world today, which remains largely unreported due to the impunity, silence, stigma and shame surrounding it.
Efforts to prevent and end violence against women at the global, regional and national levels show that there is widespread impunity on sexual violence and rape. As a result, the 2019 theme for the International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women is ‘Orange the World: Generation Equality Stands Against Rape’. As in previous years, this year’s International Day marked the launch of 16 days of activism that will conclude on 10 December (International Human Rights Day).
Read more here [https://www.un.org/en/events/endviolenceday/]​.
Event Highlights
Choral Evensong @ Pilgrim
Saturday 30 November 5:00-6:00pm
Pilgrim Uniting Church’s choir continues the great tradition of Choral Evensong here in Adelaide. This Saturday’s performance is the last of the series and will feature Dyson’s D major (‘Star Wars’) service.
Everyone is invited to come along and hear some of the finest choral repertoire, accompanied by the magnificent Pilgrim Organ. An hour of music and contemplation in the heart of the city. Free to attend.
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Events coming up in the future include:
Athelstone Christmas Tree Festival [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1911-athelstone-christmas-tree-festival] Gingerbread House Making @ Spicer UC [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1911-gingerbread-house-making–spicer-uc] International Mission Partnerships Gathering [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1911-international-mission-partnerships-gathering] The Vines Uniting Church Strawberry Fair [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1911-the-vines-uniting-church-strawberry-fair] Requiem – end of church year [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1911-requiem—end-of-church-year] Willunga Christmas Tree Festival [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1911-willunga-christmas-tree-festival-2019-your-christmas-story] Called to Care orientation workshop [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1911-called-to-care-orientation-workshop] Advent Twilight Retreat [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-advent-twilight-retreat] Payneham Road Uniting Church Organ Concert [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1911-payneham-road-uniting-church-organ-concert] Price Uniting Church 80th Anniversary [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-price-uniting-church-80th-anniversary] Come and Try Piano [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-come-and-try-piano] Induction service: Rev Alison Whish [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-induction-service-rev-alison-whish]
View the full list of upcoming events here [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/upcoming-events-list/].
Want to share your event with the wider Uniting Church SA? Complete the Events Form here [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/submit-an-event].
Positions/Placements Vacant
Personal Assistant to the Moderator [https://sa.uca.org.au/uc-positions-vacant/current-positions/mod-pa]
Placements News is available here [http://sa.uca.org.au/pastoral-relations-mission-planning/placements-vacant-and-finalised].
Reflection of the week
This week’s reflection gives guidance on how to prepare inwardly for Christmas. Read the whole reflection here. [https://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/reflection-of-the-week-26-november-2019]
You’re receiving this because you subscribed or are affiliated with a congregation of the Uniting Church SA.
Edit your subscription unitingchurchsa.updatemyprofile.com/j-ctipkd-660D6D87-tytruiuhyd-ij | Unsubscribe unitingchurchsa.cmail19.com/t/j-u-ctipkd-tytruiuhyd-it/
Level 2, 212 Pirie St
Adelaide SA

Previous
OAS Brekkie Club
Next
Book Sale