Uniting Church e-News 3 December 2019

Uniting Church e-News 3 December 2019

Web Version unitingchurchsa.cmail20.com/t/j-e-ctkhtkd-tytruiuhyd-ju/ | Update preferences unitingchurchsa.updatemyprofile.com/j-ctkhtkd-660D6D87-tytruiuhyd-tl | Unsubscribe unitingchurchsa.cmail20.com/t/j-u-ctkhtkd-tytruiuhyd-tr/ unitingchurchsa.cmail20.com/t/j-fb-ctkhtkd-tytruiuhyd-ty/ Like unitingchurchsa.cmail20.com/t/j-fb-ctkhtkd-tytruiuhyd-tj/ unitingchurchsa.cmail20.com/t/j-tw-ctkhtkd-tytruiuhyd-tt/ Tweet unitingchurchsa.cmail20.com/t/j-tw-ctkhtkd-tytruiuhyd-ti/ Forward unitingchurchsa.forwardtomyfriend.com/j-tytruiuhyd-660D6D87-ctkhtkd-l-td
2 December 2019
UC e-News is the weekly e-newsletter of the Uniting Church in SA. Submit events here [http://sa.uca.org.au/events/submit-an-event]and general notices here [http://sa.uca.org.au/uc-e-news/submit-a-notice-for-uc-e-news] for inclusion in UC e-News and on the Synod of South Australia website. Items need to be submitted by 10:00am Tuesday for same day publication. Subscribe to UC e-News here [http://sa.uca.org.au/uc-e-news/subscribe-to-uc-e-news]or New Times online here [http://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/new-times-email-subscription]. To subscribe to the Pastoral Note list please email UC e-News [mailto:ucenews@sa.uca.org.au?subject=Pastoral%20Note%20list].
New Times online
“See what you made me do”
We are in the middle of the 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence, running from 25 November to 10 December. In her book “See what you made me do”, Jess Hill has shone a spotlight on domestic violence. Read a review by Rev Alison Whish. R [https://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/moderator%E2%80%99s-2019-christmas-message] ead more here [https://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/see-what-you-made-me-do].
2 min read
News, notices & prayer points
Click here [https://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/news-notices-and-prayer-points-3-december-2019] to read this week’s news, notices and prayer points for information about:
Synod Office closing dates Offering from the Moderator’s Installation Service CMLA November newsletter (and 2020 events calendar) Uniting Church WA mourns the loss of Rev Garlett AM The Uniting Church National History Society has issued its first newsletter Stand in solidarity with the National Council of Churches in the Philippines
And more, including links to upcoming events [http://sa.uca.org.au/events/upcoming-events-list/].
Spotlight
New Times December 2019/January 2020 edition out now
The latest edition of New Times is now available to read online here [https://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/new-times-print-edition/]. Print copies should be available from this Sunday (8 December) in metro areas and next week in country areas.
What is in this edition? Apart from the regular articles and news you can also read:
– how international social work students learn (and teach) in our congregations and communities
– Sean Gilbert’s reflections on our captivity to consumerism
– a wrap-up on what happened at the November Synod meeting
– board membership: a different way to use your gifts and skills to serve Christ’s mission
We will also trial a new feature where we discuss a ‘difficult’ text in the Bible.
If you have ideas about what articles you would like to see in New Times, or have a general comment to make on the publication, please let us know. Send an email to [newtimes@sa.uca.org.au]. We would love to hear from you!
Event Highlights
Road to Christmas @ Seeds UC
Friday 13 & Saturday 14 December, 7:00-9:00pm
Seeds Uniting Church is hosting ‘ the Road to Christmas [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-road-to-christmas–seeds-uc]’ once again, a free community event that provides an opportunity to experience the sights, sounds, tastes and smells of 1st century Bethlehem, recreated live.
The event features Roman centurions, Herod, Jewish dancing, tax collectors, beggars and lepers, wise men, shepherds and of course, Joseph, Mary and baby Jesus. A large set in the church car park recreates the scene as 1st century Bethlehem.
There will be 1st century food to try and the opportunity for children to have a go at weaving, pottery and woodwork.
Storytellers continuously share the story of the first Christmas in the stable with the manger, hay bales and Joseph, Mary and baby Jesus.
This can be an unforgettable event this Christmas for the whole family, including those who don’t attend church, so invite them along.
For more information visit the event’s Facebook page [https://www.facebook.com/Road-to-Christmas-240458206018078/] or contact Michael O’Loughlin on 8370 6472 or send an email to [info@seedschurch.org].
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Events coming up in the future include:
Christmas Tree Spectacular [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-christmas-tree-spectacular] Advent Twilight Retreat [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-advent-twilight-retreat] Payneham Road Uniting Church Organ Concert [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1911-payneham-road-uniting-church-organ-concert] Price Uniting Church 80th Anniversary [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-price-uniting-church-80th-anniversary] Come and Try Piano [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-come-and-try-piano] Random Acts of Welcome (RAW) [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-random-acts-of-welcome-raw] Induction service: Rev Alison Whish [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-induction-service-rev-alison-whish] Christmas Favourites with your ASO [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-christmas-favourites-with-your-aso] Western Link Uniting Church Annual Carols Service [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-western-link-uniting-church-annual-carols-service] Adelaide West Men’s Choir Christmas Presentation [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-adelaide–west-mens-choir-christmas-presentation] Joy to the world! [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-joy-to-the-world] Rainbow Carols Service [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-rainbow-carols-service] Cherry Gardens Community carols [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/details/1912-cherry-gardens-community-carols]
View the full list of upcoming events here [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/upcoming-events-list/].
Want to share your event with the wider Uniting Church SA? Complete the Events Form here [https://sa.uca.org.au/events/submit-an-event].
Positions/Placements Vacant
Personal Assistant to the Moderator [https://sa.uca.org.au/uc-positions-vacant/current-positions/mod-pa]
Youth Young Adults Pastor [https://sa.uca.org.au/uc-positions-vacant/current-positions/youth-young-adults-pastor] @ CoroUniting
Worship Pastor [https://sa.uca.org.au/uc-positions-vacant/current-positions/worship-pastor] @ Malvern UC
Placements News is available here [http://sa.uca.org.au/pastoral-relations-mission-planning/placements-vacant-and-finalised].
Reflection of the week
This week’s reflection reminds us to really think about how we prepare for Jesus’ coming. Read the whole reflection here. [https://sa.uca.org.au/new-times/reflection-of-the-week-3-december-2019]
You’re receiving this because you subscribed or are affiliated with a congregation of the Uniting Church SA.
Edit your subscription unitingchurchsa.updatemyprofile.com/j-ctkhtkd-660D6D87-tytruiuhyd-th | Unsubscribe unitingchurchsa.cmail20.com/t/j-u-ctkhtkd-tytruiuhyd-tk/
Level 2, 212 Pirie St
Adelaide SA

Previous
Matthew 3:11-12